The Civil War

The Civil War

The Final Year Told by Those Who Lived It

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"The final volume of this highly acclaimed four-volume series begins with the controversial Kilpatrick-Dahlgren raid on Richmond in March 1864 and ends with the proclamation of emancipation in Texas in June 1865. It collects 160 pieces by more than one hundred participants and observers, among them Abraham Lincoln, William T. Sherman, Ulysses S. Grant, Jefferson Davis, Robert E. Lee, Frederick Douglass ... The selections include include vivid and haunting firsthand accounts of battles and campaigns -- the Wilderness, Spotsylvania, Cold Harbor, Atlanta, the Crater, Franklin, and Sherman's march through Georgia and the Carolinas -- as well as the Fort Pillow massacre; the struggle to survive inside Andersonville prison; the burning of Columbia and Richmond; the passage of the Thirteenth Amendment; the surrender at Appomattox; and Lincoln's assassination." -- Publisher description.
Publisher: New York : The Library of America, [2014]
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781598532944
Characteristics: xxvii, 886 pages : color maps ; 21 cm.
Additional Contributors: Sheehan-Dean, Aaron Charles - Editor


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at JCLS

To Top