The Better Liar

The Better Liar

eBook - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
"Smart, sinister, and utterly engrossing—this debut delivers."—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Never Have I Ever When a woman conceals her sister's death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins. NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2020 BY ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY AND POPSUGAR "Like most of the dead, I want to be remembered." Robin Voigt is dead. If Leslie had arrived at her sister's cramped Las Vegas apartment just hours earlier, this would have been their first reunion in a decade. In the years since Robin ran away from home as a teenager, Leslie has stayed in New Mexico, taking care of their dying father even as she began building a family of her own. But when their father passed away, Leslie received a rude awakening: She and Robin would receive the inheritance he left them together—or not at all. Now her half of the money may be beyond her grasp. And unbeknownst to anyone, even her husband, Leslie needs it desperately. When she meets a charismatic young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Robin—and has every reason to leave her past behind—the two make a reckless bargain: Mary will impersonate Robin for a week in exchange for Robin's half of the cash. But neither realizes how high the stakes will become when Mary takes a dead woman's name. Even as Mary begins to suspect Leslie is hiding something, and Leslie realizes the stranger living in her house, babysitting her newborn son, and charming her husband has secrets of her own, Robin's wild, troubled legacy threatens to eclipse them both. An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what's yours? Advance praise for The Better Liar "Jones' sensational debut has the bones of a thriller but reads like literary fiction: lean, shrewd, and gratifyingly real." — Entertainment Weekly "Jones's debut novel is clever, absorbing, and full of red herrings. . . . A stunning twist ending will leave readers waiting to see what Jones will give them next." — Booklist (starred review) " The Better Liar just kept getting better and better and better." — Chandler Baker, New York Times bestselling author of Whisper Network
Publisher: [S.I.] : Random House Publishing Group, 2020.
ISBN: 9781984821249
Additional Contributors: Overdrive Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mjk236sb
Feb 19, 2020

Some what disappointed in this book - had lots of comments about being a thriller but I thought that it dragged in places. Even though it had somewhat of a surprising twist at the end, it sure took a long time to get around to the real theme of what the story was all about. Won't say here what it was, but I think that there could have been a different way to write a story that addressed this theme.

k
Katie_Dublin
Jan 20, 2020

Spell-binding psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the end. Impressive debut, can't wait for more from this author.

d
darladoodles
Jan 07, 2020

A fascinating story line with too much "ick" for me. Leslie, Robin, and Mary are all three unreliable narrators and the story they tell becomes more sinister as the plot thickens. The setting in the seedy underbelly of Las Vegas and the dry heat of Albuquerque contributed to the sketchy undertones throughout. Definitely reminded me of reading Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.

a
aliciamarie
Dec 11, 2019

Family secrets, dramatic lifestyles, and deception fill this book to the brim. This is a debut novel by author Tanen Jones and it's a enjoyable read.

Right from the get-go (and from the book synopsis) we know that Leslie goes in search of her long lost sister, Robin, in order to claim their joint inheritance. Finding her sister dead, she quickly spirals downward until she meets Mary, a woman who looks eerily like her sister. She hatches a plan and Mary agrees to pretend to be Robin long enough to get half the money.

Told from alternating narratives, we begin to see the lives of 3 women- Leslie, Mary and Robin. All three hold secrets. All three have ulterior motives. All three are liars.

Multiple side stories and plot twists kept me reading this thriller of a novel. Some twists I saw coming while others (like the ending) I never expected. This is a well-written book that was easy to read. I did enjoy each page turn and like I stated earlier, the ending wasn't what I expected. I feel like this book is best read "going in blind" so my review is short with no spoilers. I give this 4 stars and look forward to reading more books by this author.

Thanks to Netgalley and Random House Publishing Group- Ballantine for the e-galley to read and give my honest review.

Happy Reading!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top