Roll With It

Roll With It

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
2
A Kirkus Reviews Best Middle Grade Book of 2019 "A big-hearted story that's as sweet as it is awesome." —R.J. Palacio, author of Wonder In the tradition of Wonder and Out of My Mind , this big-hearted middle grade debut tells the story of an irrepressible girl with cerebral palsy whose life takes an unexpected turn when she moves to a new town. Ellie's a girl who tells it like it is. That surprises some people, who see a kid in a wheelchair and think she's going to be all sunshine and cuddles. The thing is, Ellie has big dreams: She might be eating Stouffer's for dinner, but one day she's going to be a professional baker. If she's not writing fan letters to her favorite celebrity chefs, she's practicing recipes on her well-meaning, if overworked, mother. But when Ellie and her mom move so they can help take care of her ailing grandpa, Ellie has to start all over again in a new town at a new school. Except she's not just the new kid—she's the new kid in the wheelchair who lives in the trailer park on the wrong side of town. It all feels like one challenge too many, until Ellie starts to make her first-ever friends. Now she just has to convince her mom that this town might just be the best thing that ever happened to them!
Publisher: [S.I.] : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2019.
ISBN: 9781534442573
Additional Contributors: Overdrive Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
ArapahoeKati Jan 22, 2020

Ellie may be in a wheelchair but she refuses to let that, or her CP, stop her. She's bright, spunky and loves to bake. Very enjoyable middle grade novel.

ArapahoeBethM Dec 28, 2019

Ellie has CP and lives in a wheelchair, and is brave, funny, and talented as well as nervous, socially awkward and a totally typical 12 year old. What I like best is the way Ellie shows us how much courage it takes for anyone to be themselves, whether their vulnerabilities and imperfections are visible or not. She and her friends have each other's backs in spite of or even because of their unique flaws.

FPL_Yvette Dec 23, 2019

12 - yr old Ellie has her share of struggles. She has cerebral palsy, her parents are divorced, and her grandfather's Alzheimer's is quickly progressing, BUT she is so much more than her troubles. She works hard for her independence, is kind and supportive to her friends and family, and loves to bake whenever she has a free moment. Great for fans of Wonder!

d
darladoodles
Nov 12, 2019

She had me at British Baking Show. Ellie is an aspiring baker and is inspired by Mary Berry, Julia Child and other baking greats. She is also confined to a wheelchair due to cerebral palsy and lives with her divorced mother. The two of them move to a trailer in Oklahoma to help Mema take care of grandpa after his dementia symptoms cause a couple of dangerous accidents. Now she is the new kid in a wheelchair at a small middle school coming from the wrong side of town -- the trailer park. Spunky Ellie may be down, but she is not out. With the help of her two new friends, Coralee and Bert (short for Robert), she will learn the joys of not being normal and discovering who she really is. This book reveals much about living with a disability without being just about that. Ellie's voice is authentic and will provide a much needed window for middle grade kids to living with CP. There is something for everyone in here: baking, therapy, mini golf, pageantry, fishing, and more. As promised on the cover, there is most definitely PIE! This is most definitely one of my favorite new juvenile titles in 2019. Enjoy.

OPL_KrisC Oct 17, 2019

Engaging & full of heart, "Roll With It" by Jamie Sumner is about a spunky young girl with cerebral palsy who moves with her mom & is forced to adapt to life in a smaller town. The characters are interesting and I really enjoyed how much the main character (Ellie) loves baking.

Age

Add Age Suitability

violet_cheetah_4096 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

d
dpotluri
Oct 05, 2019

dpotluri thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 7 and 11

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top